top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKevin

Epiphany!

Updated: Mar 23, 2021

Charlie and I have been trying to figure out how to get our BrickPi robot to communicate with the Google AIY Voice Kit.


Problem 1: we bought a Hacker Hat from the Pimoroni store so we could stack up the boards, but it's never going to all fit into the Dexter Brick Box.


Problem 2: there is a pin conflict* between the Brick and the Voice Kit when hooked up to the same Pi. The pin that the Voice Kit uses for audio is the same pin that the Brick uses to reset all motors. Might not be impossible, but very improbable.


*I had this pointed out to me by someone way smarter than me. There's a website out there called PINOUT.xyz that tells you how to hook things into other things, and I was told that our things can't hook into our other things.


Problem 3: we aren't allowed to hook up two PIs to one robot. So it's not like we can, like, gaffer tape the Googly Box to the side of the Brick.


However: I believe I have had an epiphany: Why does the voice kit need to be directly attached to the robot itself?


Right now we've got a robot that is connected to the PS4 Controller. That's two devices talking to each other via the magic invisible data dust that's in the air all around us. So, why don't we swap out the PS4 controller for the Voice Kit and send commands over Wifi?

  • Voice Kit Pi = the remote

  • Brick Pi = the robot

  • Shout commands into the voice kit over here.

  • Commands are sent via WiFi to the Brick over there.

  • Brick does what brick does.

  • Eureka!

I think it will work. With a little bit of searching, I believe the answer is... sockets.



Let me run some tests and get back to you.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page