top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEoin

Scruffy-lookin' Nerf-thagoras

TEAM MEMBER: EOIN CHALLENGE: FEED THE FISH Using Pythagoras theorem, I found the distance from the start position to the fish box. (A^2) + (B^2) = (C^2) 725^2 + 920^ 2 = 137205 Sqrt(132705) = 1171 From my research, the average speed of a Nerf bullet is around 35 mph Using a physics calculator (because I can't do the maths in my head lol) I figured out the angle you need to fire a Nerf bullet 1.17 m is about 1.5 degrees. I overshot the distance by a bit to account for air resistance. This however does not include the distance you must move from the starting position, or the height of the box above the robot but I think that they would roughly cancel each other out. Conclusion: In order to get a Nerf bullet to lob itself into the fish tank, we need to shoot it almost straight up. We may need to look for another solution to this for better accuracy.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page